This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

There’s No Point in Worrying

on February 23, 2015

As a kid I was always obsessed with Lego. I was the kind of kid that without doubt had piles of Lego strewn all over the place and little patterns of bruises on the bottom of my feet. That was pretty much my entire childhood in 40-some words. And as I got older, it never disappeared. It morphed, got refined into something a little more practical.

Because of these Lego I decided pretty early on that I was going to be an engineer. I was dead-set on it. I really thought I was perfect for me. I would get to go out into the world and make things, but inside I would still be sitting on my floor putting little spaceships together. I took a bunch of engineering classes in high school and ended going to an engineering college. I really had my life planned out, and I was hard set on that track.

I was sitting class at my engineering college one day, learning about all the stuff that engineers do, I finally picked my head up. I realized that I really had no desire to be an engineer. I don’t enjoy math or science, which is the core of the field. I had been going on a decision I made when I was a child, without thinking about it, or even really knowing what it was. I was stuck. I was stuck mentally not knowing what to do with my life. I was also stuck physically, at an engineering college with suddenly no intention to be an engineer.

I really had no choice but to wait things out. So that’s exactly what I did. I sat around and thought about what I wanted to do, what I could do. For a while I really hated it, not knowing exactly what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

Over time, though, that feeling really started to grow on me. I began to enjoy the giant question mark that was my future, instead of cowering at the thought of it. And now, several months later, I wouldn’t want to live any other way. I believe that embracing the unknown is one of the best ways someone can live.

When someone charges into the future, head down, as fast as they can, they never get to see anything other than what they want to see. That was my engineering track. I was so enveloped in it, I never got a chance to experience much of anything else. Now though, I’m in a whole different world. I’m taking art classes and English classes, music classes and geography labs. Like a buffet, I’m getting a taste for everything before I decide what I really want.

I believe that’s how everyone should live their lives. Dabble in everything. See what the world has for you. But most importantly, don’t worry about the future. There’s no way of seeing what is in store, so there should be no reason to spend time fretting about what might happen.

Leave a Reply

