This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Life after Love

on February 23, 2015

“Do you believe in life after love? I can feel something inside me say, I really don’t think you’re strong enough” When I look back to my childhood in the late 90’s this famous song by Cher is one I remember blasting through the headphones of my portable CD player. However, never did I think those lyrics would become so applicable in my adult life. Yes, of course I know this song refers to a boyfriend and girlfriend relationship ending and that Cher doesn’t believe she will be able to move on. But, my story is different; my story is much deeper than some teen fling ending. I believe in life after love.

I had grown up in a family of 6, we were all very close and I was what one could call a “mama’s girl”. My mother was very involved in the activities that my siblings and I participated in. In elementary school my mom was the head girl scout leader, she also was very involved in our church’s Sunday school and youth group. Always transporting my friends around and helping out with the different sports and field trips my friends would consider her to be their second mother. Everyone knew her and loved her, she was truly a socially active parent in the community. This built an extremely close bond between us. Despite my mother’s social antics I had allowed myself to fade into the background, being a triplet I let my siblings do all the extra-curricular activities while I stayed home and didn’t do much. I was boring and hadn’t been able to really find my interests. Throughout the awkward stages of middle school I mostly just hung out at home with my mom. She was my number one role model, my best friend and my comfort zone. On July 31st 2010 she passed away.

“It’s so sad that you’re leaving, It takes time to believe it” are some more wise words from Cher’s song “Believe” that also help describe this experience in my life. A few weeks before her passing I couldn’t bring myself to do anything. Nothing mattered and I was overwhelmed with grief. How could a 15 year old girl live without her mother? I couldn’t even imagine life without her, not at this age. Knowing that she would never see me go to prom, graduate, get married, or have kids, tore me up inside. The following week of her passing was dreadful. I didn’t do anything, I didn’t think I would ever truly value my life.

Through determination and a positive attitude I pulled through this tragedy and was able to grow into successful young women. A few months after she died I decided I needed to get out and keep myself busy. So, I joined my high school rugby team. I didn’t think I was cut out for it but, my mistake. I became co-captain my senior year and continue to play competitively throughout college. I also continued my schooling and have been working as a teacher at KinderCare Learning Center. Overall I have become a very outgoing, busy, adventurous individual. The disaster brought me down to rock bottom but at the same time, it also freed me from my comfort zone. Making me do things I never thought I would. I am living and I am happy. Therefore, like Cher said, “I believe in life after love”.

Leave a Reply

