This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Discorver yourself through the unkown

on February 23, 2015

I believe that being uncomfortable shows who you are. In my teenage days, getting out of my comfort zone was something I hated. All I wanted to do was stay in my room, my place of comfort. I mean, what teenager didn’t like their privacy? But towards the end of high school I started to notice that I was lacking some serious life skills. Just like the typical slacker teenager I was, I had no idea what I was going to do after high school. I had never even thought about going to college, I was stuck. This led me to only one more option, join the armed forces.

On August 30th, 2010, I departed for basic military training to start my new journey. I had no idea what would be in store for me or what would happen. Later that night, I had arrived at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas. Where I had discovered rather quickly that there was no such thing as a comfort zone, reality had hit me in the face. The constant yelling, the sleep deprivation, being with people I had never seen before, my bubble was non-existing. I was forced into a culture of interacting and working with others in a stressful environment.

I can remember the first night of basic training like it happened yesterday. Being in an unknown place and getting yelled at by strangers for reasons I didn’t even know existed. Getting yelled at for not having a shaven face, for not moving with a purpose, and for a million other reasons that would soon shape my future. I remember laying in my new bed that night and listening to all of the whimpering and crying. Thinking to myself, what have I just done with my life?

Looking back at it now, my whole military experience was uncomfortable. Being an airman meant that I had to be a leader, set an example, and have discipline. But I wasn’t just an airman, I was a fire fighter too, uncomfortable was my job. I was tasked with providing fire protection and medical assistance to all of Columbus Air Force Base and the community. Being uncomfortable wasn’t an option anymore, people lives were in my hands, and failure was not an option.

Through these experiences, my comfort zone has disappeared. If I had not signed that contract to go into a world that I was completely unfamiliar with, I would not be who I am today. I currently am an honor student at the University of Waukesha, Wisconsin. Getting uncomfortable is now in my nature, always striving for success, being a leader, helping others when they are in need, and never backing down from a challenge. Sometimes to find out what great potential you possess, you need to take that leap into the unknown. I can now answer that question I had that first night of basic training, and my answer is this, the best decision I have ever made.

Leave a Reply

