This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Honesty is the Best Policy

on February 18, 2015

I believe honesty is the best way to build relationships.

My mom is the best woman I know, and I wouldn’t have the relationship that I have with her today if it weren’t for our ups and downs.

Growing up, I was THE WORST LIAR on the planet… (Holly, a Liar? No way!) I lied about a lot of things, even if it was something little. I would have consequences, yet – I still lied about everything.

My mom always told me that lying would get me nowhere. I believed her, but bad habits are hard to break.

Slowly, I started getting better at telling the truth. My lying wasn’t too bad in middle school, but when I got to high school, I lied less about little things and lied more about things that mattered.

“Where were you last night? Why didn’t you come home?” were the most commonly asked questions by my mother. I had the opportunity to tell her the truth, and I should have most of the time. If I would have realized how cool my mom was, I wouldn’t have had so many consequences.

It got to the point that during my senior year of high school, my mom wrote a contract stating I will tell her who I’m with, where I’ll be, and whether I’d come home or stay the night. That’s all she wanted to know – I should have realized that all she cared about was me and my safety before I lied to her so many times.

Since that day, I’ve been very honest with my mom about everything – boy trouble, school, work, and even little things like how much I spent while shopping. I will never be as close with anyone like I am with my mother, because I’ve built that relationship with her by being honest and asking before I do things too.

This is something that I truly believe in. Honesty is something that I’ve grown to learn not only through my mother, but also on my own. I realized that I wanted that kind of relationship with my mom where I could tell her anything and she wouldn’t get upset with me. I didn’t want to continue to upset her, and I also didn’t want to keep losing her trust. I wanted to be there for my mom like she is there for me. I value my relationship with my mom just as much as she does, and I’m glad we’ve come together to form such a strong bond.

I remember, the day before I left to go on my first vacation by myself, I had one of the biggest heart to hearts with her. It was a big moment in my life, going across the country without my mom by my side. In that moment, she reflected on our relationship and told me how she really appreciated me being so honest with her and asking her to do things. She even said, “You didn’t have to ask me to go on this trip; you’re an adult and can make those decisions on your own. I really appreciate you asking me and valuing my opinion, and I’ve never been so proud of you.”

Those words will always be in my heart, and will always be a reminder that I’ve grown up to be a responsible, honest adult that has a great relationship with her mother.

Leave a Reply

