This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Just Three Days

on February 24, 2014

June 7th, 2010. January 21st, 2011. March 8th, 2011.

The three days that have shaped me the most in my eighteen years.

June 6th, just another summer day. But, it was my birthday. I was ecstatic and didn’t let the fact of going to school bring me down. I got numerous calls from people, but there is one call I remember the most, it was my Aunt Wendy. My Aunt Wendy is my dad’s sister and being that my parents separated and I spent most of my time with my mom, I hardly got to see her, but we still remained very close.

I ignored the phone call. I told myself I was too busy to take it.

It was June 7th, 2010. I woke up and went to school. When I got home, my mom was sitting at the table. She said, “Sit down, hun.”…

January 21st, 2011. Snow fell to the ground as I watched through the window. When is this class going to be over? I thought. The bell rang. Freedom. I grabbed my things and was off to the bus. When I got home, I checked my phone. I had three missed calls from my Aunt Debi. So I called her back…

It was the evening of March 8th, 2011. I was in the car with my mom driving home. We were just talking and singing along to the radio. That is when I got the phone call from my cousin Rikki…

June 7th, 2010 my Aunt Wendy passed away. On January 21st, 2011  my Grandma, my Aunt Wendy’s mother passed away. And March 8th, 2011 my father, my aunt Wendy’s brother, passed away.

There are so many things I regret. I wished I had picked up my aunt’s call. I listened to that voicemail over and over again. I wished I had spent more time with my Grandma after she had developed Alzheimer’s. Mostly, I wished I had taken time to spend with my dad.

I had always taken my dad for granted. I never wanted to go over to his house for the weekend and when I did, I spent the time doing things with my cousin. I always treated him like he wasn’t good enough. I hadn’t talked to my dad for months before he passed, I remember when I saw him at my grandma’s funeral, I tried to avoid him.

When I see teens complain about how much they hate their parents because they tell them not to do something or to act a certain way it makes me upset. I wish I could show them how short life is, that you never know when you’ll wake up and the people you love will no longer be there.

This is why I believe that no moment should be taken for granted. Don’t let the fights last too long, never say something that you don’t mean, and tell the people you love that you love them as much as you can.

Leave a Reply

