This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

I’m Never Alone

on February 24, 2014

Do you ever have that funny feeling that you’re not alone?  I feel it all the time but it wasn’t until a few years ago when I found out exactly WHY I was feeling that way.

Since I was young I had always had an interest in things that couldn’t be readily explained.  I would watch Ghost Hunters and marvel at all the Halloween specials on TV.  Nothing gave me any proof until I met my friend, Erik.  Erik can communicate with the dead.  Crazy, right?  That’s what I thought too, until he proved it to me in a way that still blows my mind.

Out of the blue one day Erik told me my grandfather, who died of cancer in 2006, was there with us.  Erik began by describing, in detail, my grandfather’s family.  He described my father and his three brother’s physical traits, ages, and specifically naming their birth dates.  He listed some of my grandfather’s favorite meals that his wife, my grandmother, cooked for him during his life.  But the one thing Erik said that made me believe was the mention of a moment my grandfather and I shared when I was just a young child.

When I was just a few years old, I toddled into the living room and noticed my grandfather napping on the couch.  I stood and watched him for a few moments.  Then, I pulled a pillow off the couch and plopped it on the ground next to the couch, proceeded to lie down and fall asleep next to my grandfather.

No one but my father knew about that moment until he told me about it a few years ago.  It was at that moment that I knew all the things that Erik had told me and all the things that I had thought about the paranormal world was real.

I believe that we are never truly alone in our lives.  No matter what happens or what bumps in the road we come to, our loved ones are never far behind to comfort us in the only way they know how; by being there even if it is from a different place that we cannot fully understand.  And now when I get that funny feeling that I am not alone, I no longer feel any fear, but comfort.

Because of my grandfather coming through to me years ago, I know that no matter what problems arise in my life, or no matter how hard it is to get out of bed some days, I am never alone.

Leave a Reply

