This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Horses Have Superpowers

on February 20, 2013

“Remington is not eating anything! He usually inhales his food!” These are the words that I spoke when I first discovered Remi was sick. I had just put him in his stall to eat his extra large helping of grain and hay. Remi is a rescue that was starved, so it was very unusual for him to have no interest in his food what so ever. I called my trainer over to take a glance, and after inspecting his extra ghost-like, white gums and listening to his suspiciously quiet stomach, she concluded that Remi was very sick and needed to see a vet.

The emergency doctor on call showed about 30 minutes later. After a painful several minutes of complete silence of listening to Remi’s stomach and heart, the vet diagnosed him with colic. “Remington is not passing anything in his intestines,” explained the doctor. At that moment, my heart sunk to the floor. Every horse owner dreads the word colic, and after hearing it I prayed that he would survive it.

After a long and challenging process of sedating Remi, injecting medication, and pumping electrolytes and oils into his stomach through a feeding tube, he responded positively to the treatment, and the doctor concluded he would make it.

Though Remi has had some major ups and downs, he is the reason I am excited to get up in the morning. Although with each new day, comes a new stress, worry, or doubt from either school or work, when I go to the barn, all that negativity disappears somehow. Remi has a way of making me forget everything that is bothering me because when I am at the barn it’s not about me, it’s about him. When I drive up to the barn, he runs to the gate to greet me, and when I walk around the corner to his stall, his head jolts up and he whinnies almost as if he is saying “Hi mom!” When I walk through the barn doors, my reality leaves me and Remi’s reality becomes mine. In other words, I have discovered that for once, someone else depends on me more than I depend on myself, and there is no greater feeling than that.

After Remi’s colic, I realized that not a single person would have discovered he was sick. But I did because I am the one that is with him everyday. I am the one that shares a bond with him that is so thick that I was able to listen to what he was telling me even though he didn’t speak a single word. These are the moments that set a person free, and these are the moments that explain why everyone needs their own “horse.”
I am not trying to convince anyone to buy a horse, but I am trying to explain that everyone must find their own, or that one thing that temporarily releases you from your own reality. The past four months with Remi have been a journey and I am so thankful and appreciative for every moment. I believe that when a person finds their “horse”, they will also believe that horses really do have superpowers.

Leave a Reply

