This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Common Ground

on February 20, 2013

“Birds of a feather flock together”. This is a saying my dad always says to me whether it is about friendships or relationships. Many say “Opposites attract” and that’s where this sequence of events really comes alive. My belief is that differences need to counterbalance similarities with all relationships.

Commonality is what brings us together in life; it’s what makes us “like” each other and find interest in one and other/get along. But yet, in order to become in common with someone else, sometimes differences need to counterbalance with the similarities. I believe common ground can make friendships and relationships last longer, but also the differences can tell us its okay to be diverse and it can help us “click” right away. Sometimes differences have more of an impact and help us grow and be more involved in one and other. My life story is about a friend and I that met in Pre School and have been friends ever since. Even though she is my complete opposite, we are still friends after all these years even though it’s rough sometimes to get along, we have each other to depend on and make us realize who we are and how our differences help us get along.  Sometimes it’s healthy being opposite.

I have personal experience with this. Over the years, I never truly had a best friend. I couldn’t call anyone my “bestie” or my “BFF”. I was hard on acquaintances. For a long time I thought I was just being mean and picky. Then I realized that “birds of a feather, flock together”, and it all made sense. I realize today, at 20, that common ground is absolutely everything. My belief is that common ground will result in longer friendships and relationships. My eldest friend I’ve had since Pre School is nothing like me. Sure we both have similar pastimes and hobbies but nothing in common with our social and family life. She dreads life, I live life. That is something dear to my heart and always will be. I am often described as being “high on life”. Not literally “high” but I live to live like there is no tomorrow. So I questioned myself why would I want someone to drag me down and mope about life when there is so much of it to live?

I’ve realized over the years that my friend has always been part of my life. I would often get mad at her for personal reasons and because she is so different. But yet, she is still here in my life. As my classmate said, “It is those differences that bring us together, bring out the best in each other”.

Common ground is everything.

Leave a Reply

