This We Believe

Separated by Differences, United by Beliefs

Follow Your Passion

on March 8, 2012

A person once asked me, “So what are you thinking of doing for the rest of your life after you’re done with school,” and I took a moment to answer. When I said I was interested in fashion journalism, he looked at me questioningly and laughed. “How far are you going to get with that?” I looked him in the eye and said, “As far as I want to.” Telling people that my major in school is journalism raises some eyebrows already, including the fact that it’s fashion journalism not only gets me the same reaction, but a scoff as well.

People believe that the fashion industry is egotistical and materialistic, and although at times it can be, it is also an extremely important aspect to life. Why are people so quick to judge the ones who design the clothes they have on their body? They only see one side to it; that every person in the industry is stuck up and they only care about the inanimate objects.

I am not like that. Sure, I like buying things and looking pretty but that’s not where my personality stops. I’m not some dumb girl who likes clothes; I’m a person who’s passionate about something. Whatever our passions are, we should never be ashamed of them. It’s unfair when people try to make me feel unintelligent, because I know I’m smart. I may not be straight A, honor roll material but I know I’m intelligent. It takes brains to be in the fashion business. I have to be one step ahead of my competition; otherwise I fall to the wayside. Keeping up in an industry is difficult, but when that industry is constantly changing it makes it almost impossible. I could easily lose myself in the shuffle but I won’t, because I’m not dumb.

Whatever a person decides to dress themselves in, at the end of the day it is their decision. No one can tell you what you can and can’t wear, just like no one can tell you what you can and can’t do. Even though people may judge and assume who I am through what I am deciding to dedicate my life to, it in no way shapes my personality.

I believe if you are really passionate about something, you should go for it. If you don’t do what makes you happy in your own life, you’re never going to know what could have come from it.

Leave a Reply

